← MP directory

Official portrait of Sir Julian Smith

Sir Julian Smith

Conservative Skipton and Ripon

Voting record

0
Voted for
6
Voted against
3
Didn’t vote

Based on 9 recorded Commons divisions at Second or Third Reading of bills tracked by Hear, Hear — not a full voting record. “Didn’t vote” means Parliament has no vote recorded for them in that division (absent, abstained, paired, or excused). See the All votes tab below for every division.

See Sir Julian Smith’s full voting record on Parliament’s site →

Every Commons division on file for Sir Julian Smith — amendments, motions and opposition-day votes as well as bills. Took part in 1,837 of 2,376 (77%). Recorded in both lobbies (a deliberate abstention) 2 times.

11 Sep 2026 Closure motion Ayes 293, Noes 218 no vote recorded
8 Sep 2026 Health Bill: Report Stage: Amendment 1 Ayes 162, Noes 297 Aye
8 Sep 2026 Health Bill: Report Stage: New Clause 143 Ayes 106, Noes 302 Aye
8 Sep 2026 Health Bill: Report Stage: New Clause 142 Ayes 108, Noes 357 Aye
8 Sep 2026 Health Bill: Report Stage: New Clause 140 Ayes 79, Noes 300 no vote recorded
7 Sep 2026 Health Bill: Report Stage: New Clause 145 Ayes 170, Noes 316 no vote recorded
7 Sep 2026 Health Bill: Report Stage: New Clause 6 Ayes 77, Noes 317 no vote recorded
4 Sep 2026 Motion to sit in private Ayes 1, Noes 79 no vote recorded
2 Sep 2026 Representation of the People Bill: Third Reading Ayes 411, Noes 102 No
14 Jul 2026 Public Office (Accountability) Bill Report Stage: Amendment 3 Ayes 93, Noes 323 no vote recorded
13 Jul 2026 Immigration and Asylum Bill: Second Reading Ayes 264, Noes 90 no vote recorded
7 Jul 2026 Opposition Day: Early release of prisoners Ayes 115, Noes 0 Aye
1 Jul 2026 Taxation (Energy and Vehicles) Bill Committee: New Clause 2 Ayes 80, Noes 281 no vote recorded
24 Jun 2026 Draft Carbon Budget Order 2026 Ayes 332, Noes 94 No
23 Jun 2026 Opposition Day: Puberty blockers Ayes 112, Noes 283 Aye
23 Jun 2026 Opposition day: Defence spending and readiness Ayes 108, Noes 307 Aye
22 Jun 2026 Armed Forces Bill Report Stage: Amendment 11 Ayes 171, Noes 322 Aye
22 Jun 2026 Armed Forces Bill Report Stage: New Clause 22 Ayes 74, Noes 323 no vote recorded
22 Jun 2026 Armed Forces Bill Report Stage: New Clause 11 Ayes 104, Noes 391 Aye
22 Jun 2026 Armed Forces Bill Report Stage: New Clause 4 Ayes 164, Noes 311 Aye
Show 50 moreShowing 50 of 2,376

Covers 9 Mar 2016 to 11 Sep 2026 — Parliament’s votes data doesn’t go back further. “No vote recorded” is Parliament’s own list of members with nothing recorded for that division: it can mean absent, deliberately abstaining, paired, or excused, and the data doesn’t say which. Click a division title for Parliament’s own page for it.

Government & opposition roles

Sir Julian Smith doesn’t currently hold a government or shadow front-bench post, but has in the past. See Government for who else currently holds one.

Previously held
Secretary of State for Northern Ireland — Northern Ireland Office (2019-07-24 to 2020-02-13) Government
Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasury and Chief Whip — Whips Office (Commons) (2017-11-02 to 2019-07-24) Government
Treasurer of HM Household (Deputy Chief Whip, House of Commons) — HM Household (2017-06-13 to 2017-11-02) Government
Vice Chamberlain (HM Household) (Whip, House of Commons) — HM Household (2016-07-17 to 2017-06-13) Government
Assistant Whip (HM Treasury) — Whips Office (Commons) (2015-05-13 to 2016-07-17) Government

Declared financial interests

From Parliament’s Register of Members’ Financial Interests — Parliament’s official register for Sir Julian Smith →. Topic tags below are our own automated, best-effort keyword match, not Parliament’s classification.

1. Employment and earnings

Role, work or services: Chair
From: 28 January 2025.
Payer: International Finance Facility for Education (IFFED is a Geneva-based foundation providing a financing engine for global education.), Route de Chene 30A, c/o L&S Trust Services SA, 1208 Geneve
(Registered 28 January 2025)
Payment: £9,610.55 Payment for hours worked January-July 2025 and expenses incurred
Received on: 24 September 2025. Hours: 99 hrs.
(Registered 30 September 2025)
Payment: Return travel between London and Geneva plus accommodation, value £964.25
Received on: 1 October 2025. Hours: I have not specified the number of hours because this expenses payment related to attendance at a voluntary board meeting in my capacity as Chair.
(Registered 15 October 2025)
Payment: £90.62 Expenses reimbursed for attending a voluntary Board meeting.
Received on: 17 October 2025. Hours: I have not specified the number of hours because this expense payment related to attendance at a voluntary board meeting in my capacity as Chair.
(Registered 31 October 2025)
Payment: £1,127.38 Return travel between London and Zurich plus accommodation.
Received on: 5 November 2025. Hours: I have not specified the number of hours because this expenses payment related to attendance at a voluntary board meeting in my capacity as Chair.
(Registered 12 November 2025)
Payment: £385.51 Incidental expenses reimbursment, incurred end Oct- Nov 2025
Received on: 8 December 2025. Hours: no hours entered.
(Registered 15 December 2025)
Payment: £489.20 Payment received for expenses incurred in December 2025
Received on: 14 January 2026. Hours: no hours entered.
(Registered 15 January 2026)
Payment: Travel paid for a trip to Bern December 2025, value £1,049.41
Received on: 17 December 2025. Hours: no hours entered.
(Registered 15 January 2026)
Payment: £6,738.28 payment for work undertaken and expenses incurred December 2025-April 2026
Received on: 15 May 2026. Hours: 69.5 hrs.
(Registered 10 June 2026)
Payment: £6,223.45 payment for work undertaken and expenses incurred April 2026-August 2026
Received on: 1 September 2026. Hours: 65 hrs.
(Registered 4 September 2026)

Education
2. (a) Support linked to an MP but received by a local party organisation or indirectly via a central party organisation

Name of donor: Wenningdale Leisure Ltd
Address of donor: Dalton House, 9 Dalton Square, Lancaster, LA1 1WD
Amount of donation or nature and value if donation in kind: £2,000
Donor status: company, registration 06993978
(Registered 15 June 2026)

3. Gifts, benefits and hospitality from UK sources

Name of donor: Carlton Club
Address of donor: 69 St James’ Street, London SW1A 1PJ
Amount of donation or nature and value if donation in kind: Honorary membership for life (value provided is that in 2024), value £760
Date received: 22 December 2017
Date accepted: 18 January 2018
Donor status: company, registration 00573221
(Registered 19 January 2018; updated 24 January 2024)

6. Land and property portfolio with a value over £100,000 and where indicated, the portfolio provides a rental income of over £10,000 a year

Type of land/property: Residential property (A second property was sold on 14 February 2025 and a third property was sold on 28 February 2025).)
Number of properties: 1
Location: London
Interest held: from 4 August 2016
Ownership details: co-owned with a family member
Rental income: from 4 August 2016
Rental income details: rental income is paid to my partner and I
(Registered 23 April 2013; updated 4 August 2016, 19 February 2025 and 7 March 2025)

8. Miscellaneous

Visiting Professor in Practice, LSE, Mediation and Facilitation Initiative based in the Centre for Analysis for Risk and Regulation (CARR). This is an unpaid role.
Date interest arose: 1 September 2026
(Registered 7 September 2026)

Written questions to government

No written questions on file for Sir Julian Smith yet — this only covers what Hear, Hear has fetched so far (see Written questions), not necessarily every question Sir Julian Smith has ever tabled.

Business costs (IPSA)

£283,820.75 paid out to or for Sir Julian Smith across 192 claims — combining every financial year on file, not just the current one — covering office costs, accommodation, travel, and bought-in/temporary staffing. This does not include Sir Julian Smith’s permanent staff’s salaries — typically the biggest single share of an MP’s real costs — which IPSA only publishes once a year, after the year closes, as one aggregate figure, never as individual claims. Some categories (especially travel) are reported by IPSA as one whole-year total rather than itemised by date — marked “Aggregated” below. See MP expenses to filter this to a single year.

By category
Staffing — £224,086.94 (1 claim)
Office Costs — £35,724.37 (125 claims)
Accommodation — £9,312.18 (53 claims)
Staff Travel — £5,890.35 (5 claims)
MP Travel — £5,458.14 (2 claims)
Miscellaneous — £2,132.38 (5 claims)
Dependant Travel — £1,216.39 (1 claim)
Most recent claims
Utilities — £131.34, 2026-03-20 — Electricity
Utilities — £189.13, 2026-03-20 — Gas
Venue hire, meetings & surgeries — £130.42, 2026-03-11 — [200013613-7910]
Software & applications — £62.68, 2026-03-11 — ELECTED TECHNOLOGIES [200013613-7909] [200013614-263]
Stationery & printing — £2,860.94, 2026-03-06 — Printing newsletter
Postage & couriers — £3,703.57, 2026-03-06 — Delivering Newsletter
Postage & couriers — £1,464.48, 2026-03-06 — Delivering Newsletter
Stationery & printing — £84.00, 2026-02-27 — JOHN MASON PRINTERS LI [200013624-1193]

Every claim on file for Sir Julian Smith →

Early Day Motions

No Early Day Motions on file as tabled by Sir Julian Smith — this only covers motions tabled within Hear, Hear’s current tracking window (see Early Day Motions), not necessarily Sir Julian Smith’s full record.

All-Party Parliamentary Groups

Sir Julian Smith isn’t listed as an officer of any All-Party Parliamentary Group on file — true of most MPs. See APPGs for the full register.

Compare Sir Julian Smith with another MP →

Contains Parliamentary information licensed under the Open Parliament Licence v3.0. Hear, Hear is an independent, unofficial project — not affiliated with or endorsed by Parliament — run by one person, with no ads and no paywall. About · Privacy · Support this project ☕